• Faculty of Ocean Engineering Technology and Informatics was formally founded on 1 August 2019 after the restructuring of University Malaysia Terengganu (UMT).
  • FTKKI was founded as a result from the merging of School of Informatics and Applied Mathematics and School of Ocean Engineering. This faculty was established to pool the experts in the technology that includes informatics, computer science, mathematics and statistics as well as many facets of engineering field including maritime, civil, mechanical, electric and electronics and chemical under one organization with the aim to empower the knowledge and research disciple in a niche area related to ocean engineering which are parallel with the mission and vision of UMT.
  • The main aim of FTKKI is to produce competitive graduates, as well as implementing teaching and learning activities, research and consultation work related to science, mathematics, technology and ocean engineering. The programmes offered in this field is a pragmatic step towards producing skilled human resources, competitive and have integrity to fulfill the needs of the country.



Universiti Malaysia Terengganu began as Universiti Pertanian Malaysia’s Centre for Fisheries and Marine Science, located at Mengabang Telipot, Kuala Terengganu. It provided facilities for both students and lecturers from the Fisheries and Marine Science programmes to conduct their practical sessions and also researches.

Eventually, the Faculty of Fisheries and Marine Science of Universiti Pertanian Malaysia (UPM) in Serdang was transferred to Kuala Terengganu, and the Centre transformed into a branch campus, being renamed Universiti Pertanian Malaysia Terengganu (UPMT) in June 1996. The name of the faculty was also changed to the Faculty of Applied Sciences and Technology. Also formed were the Faculty of Science and Professional Literature and the Matriculation Centre.

Later on, the Cabinet of Malaysia had approved the establishment of Terengganu University College (KUT) on 5th May 1999 as an associate campus of UPM. Then Terengganu Universiti College was given autonomy on 1st May 2001 and was renamed the Malaysian Science and Technology University College (KUSTEM) on 20th June 2001.

On 1st February 2007, KUSTEM was given the status of a full-fledged university, and with that elevation, it was renamed again and remain to this very day as Universiti Malaysia Terengganu.